top of page

Office Job or Home Based Job?


When we make decisions, we weigh everything. In my case, as a single parent, I have to choose between staying as a call center agent or shifting to a home-based job as a #virtualassistant. It’s like I’m torn between 2 lovers (laugh), I know you’ve sang it.

On a serious note. Things were not easy, from sleeping at 10 pm and waking up at 3 am for my 5 am to 2 pm shift. Juggling to work and struggling with the traffic to go home as early as possible for me to spend time with my son. That’s enough for me to quit of being a corporate slave. I only have my mom, who's taking care of my son while I’m at work. And there's a lot of things to consider.

Top 3 Questions to consider before switching Jobs

Good thing I bumped into this Article 10 Questions to Ask Before Quitting Your Day Job to Run Your Own Company by Lisa Girard, which really enlightens me. I actually picked the Top 3 questions which I think it will be a great help.

1. Is this going to make me happier?

Definitely. Staying at home with my son is always the best. I usually turn down invitations like night out, movie date with friends after work or out of town because not that I’m depriving myself with “ME” time but ever since I became a mom, I just wanted to spend time with my son. I believe moms who will read this will totally agree with me. That’s why I’m looking forward in shifting to home-based.

2. How will I cover my expenses?

I don’t have a husband nor a partner, that’s gonna back me up whatever may happen in this new path that I’ll be taking so I wanted to make sure. That’s when push come to shove, I have a backup plan. This is very crucial to me since my son is going to school, I can’t just give up my current job and switch to something unsure. I will not resign from my current job immediately, I can have my home-based as part time first and I’ll take it from there.

3. How much am I willing to change my lifestyle?

There will be no teammates and team leader around once I started my home-based job. It’s going to be I and myself. Time management and my family’s support is all I need for me to survive in this career. As per Deborah Shane of Fort Myers, Fla., author of Career Transition – Make the Shift: Your Five Steps to Successful Career Reinvention(Deborah Shane, 2010) “There's also a lot of self-motivation involved. You have to be structured, innovative, creative and proactive,”

I hope that after reading the article above, will also helps you in making a decision on what to choose if you're in the same situation as mine. This boils down on what really matters to you.

Solo Parenting

For me, as a #soloparent, I feel like, I need to be with my son not just to fill in the space of not having a father, but to let him feel that I'm always here for him. Oh my!, tears are now starting to well up in my eyes. I get emotional when it comes to him, that's why I really commit myself to savor all the knowledge that I'm learning in this #VirtualAssistant course, for me to succeed. I valued time especially with my son because he'll only be young once, and time flies so fast and don’t want to miss anything if it’s all about him. That's why when I learned about #freelancing and #homebasedjob then it gives me hope that our future will not be compromised while working at home.


Be Courageous

I know it's not easy to transition from office job to #homebased work, it takes a lot of courage. I don’t just quit. I’m very determined to really get into this life changing career. I know I can do it and I'm getting there. With the help of my family and God, everything's gonna fall into place in his will and by his grace.

More pictures of my son in the gallery section.

Comments and Questions are very much appreciated. Please feel free to shoot me an email .

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page